Welcome to Jeuti Eye Bank

Jeuti Eye Bank, run by NGO 'Jeuti', is housed at Chandraprabha Eye Hospital. The Eye Bank has been rendering immense services to the community by procuring cornea from dead persons and arranging transplantation in corneally blind people. Besides being utilized at CPEH, the collected corneas are sent to Sri Sandardeva Netharalaya Guwahati, Regional Institution of Ophthalmology, Guwahati and private corneal and anterior segment practitioners.

Affiliation to Eye Donation Centres: Jeuti Eye Bank has given affiliation to Tinsukia Eye Donation Centre & Netrajyoti Eye Donation Centre, Sivasagar. These two EDC s will work under the guidance of Jeuti Eye Bank. They will collect corneas and will send to Jeuti Eye Bank for preservation, evaluation and distribution. Accreditation to Jeuti Eye Bank: Jeuti eye bank is accredited by the Accreditation Committee for Eye Banks and Eye Donation Centres of Govt of Assam following their inspection of the eye bank in December, 2006

Registration of Jeuti Eye Bank uder HOTA: Jeuti Eye Bank was registered under Human Organ Transplant Act, 1994 (HOTA) which ensures that it is legally allowed to collect, preserve and distribute corneas taken from dead persons.

Institutional membership of Eye Bank Association of India: Jeuti Eye Bank has been given Institutional membership by EBAI following fulfilment of their criteria like getting one person trained for eye collection at Ramayama International Eye Bank, Hyderabad. This has also opened the accessibility of Jeuti Eye Bank to the MK Media which is a must for preservation of corneas.

Organization of Workshop on Corneal Transplantation & Eye Banking: Jeuti Eye Bank has imparting education to the doctors and paramedics about eye banking and corneal transplantation surgery falls into the duties of an eye bank. Last three years Jeuti Eye Bank organised workshops on these lines where ophthalmologists from different districts of Assam & N E participated.
In 2006 Dr Ayan Mahant from Kolkata, Dr Merle Fernandaz from Vizag, Dr Samrat Chattergy from Raipur, Dr Arundhuti Borthakur, Dr Kalyan Das, Dr BM Agarwala, Dr Ratul Deka from Guwahati, Dr Arundhuti Tamuly from Dibrugarh participated as faculties.
In 2007 Dr Samar Basak from Kolkata participated and he performed live surgery on DESEK, a new technique of lamellar keratoplasty.
In 2009 Dr Prashant Garg from LVPEI, Dr Nibaran Gangopadhyay from Kolkata participated as guest faculties.